Home » WBC News

Music Society Inducts New Members


New Mu Phi Epsilon Inductees: (Left to right) Elizabeth Guthrie, Jason McNabb, Meagan Thompson and Nicole Mitchell.

Four music students at Williams Baptist College have been inducted into the Zeta Alpha chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon International Music Fraternity. Students are considered for membership based on their record of academic achievement.

The four inductees are: Elizabeth Jane Guthrie, a sophomore music education major from Colorado Springs, Col.; Jason D. McNabb, a junior music education major from Pocahontas, Ark.; Nicole Mitchell, a junior art major and music minor from Benton, Ark.; and Meagan Thompson, a sophomore music major from Heber Springs, Ark.

On hand for the installation was Cathy Woebling-Paul of St. Louis, Mo., the district director for the central region of Mu Phi Epsilon. The ceremony took place Friday, April 23, in the choral room of WBC’s Maddox Center.

Following the ceremony, a chapter business meeting was held and officers were elected for the 2010-2011 school year. New officers are: Joshua Junyor, president; Meagan Thompson, vice president; Elizabeth Guthrie, treasurer; Maricela Pinedo, secretary; Chris Sloan, chorister; Jason McNabb, steward; Nicole Mitchell, historian; and Janai Powell, chaplain.

The Zeta Alpha chapter at Williams is currently the only active chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon in the state of Arkansas and became the 200th chapter internationally at the time of its installation on April 5, 2005.

A primary goal of the music honor society is to promote music, harmony and friendship through a number of community outreach activities.

Back to News Listing