Home » WBC News

WBC Announces 2014 Graduates


Williams Baptist College awarded degrees to 111 graduates during its 2014 baccalaureate and commencement exercises Saturday, May 3.

A crowd of over 1,000 filled WBC’s Southerland-Mabee Center for the ceremony. Dr. Glen Putman, pastor of Walnut Street Baptist Church in Jonesboro, Ark., was honored as the 2014 Distinguished Baptist Minister, and he then delivered the address to graduates.

Alli Evans of Smithville, Ark., was recognized as the graduate with highest honors.  Evans had a 4.0 cumulative grade point average, which was the highest in the graduating class.

Honor graduates were recognized as being cum laude (3.5-3.69 cumulative grade point average), magna cum laude (3.7-3.84 GPA) or summa cum laude (3.85-4.0 GPA).

Williams is a four-year, liberal arts college at Walnut Ridge.  WBC graduates from Arkansas, listed by county, included:

Baxter County – Mountain Home: Katie Thomas.

Boone County Harrison: Anna Kane, Anna Bell Smith.

Bradley County – Warren: Ashley Harris (cum laude).

Carroll County – Green Forest: Henry Pineda.

Clay County – Corning: Ryan Bauschlicher, Teddy Jay Cooper, Seth Debord, Felicia Flanery, Kevin Smith, Matthew Smith (magna cum laude),Lindsay Wilcut, Felicia Woodard; Rector: Hannah Scott, Kelsey Shavalia (magna cum laude).

Cleburne County Concord: Brandt McDonald (cum laude).

Craighead County – Bono: Andrew Smith; Jonesboro: Nicole Cornes (magna cum laude), Kathleen Dunlap, Elizabeth Dunnam, Terry Flowers (cum laude), Drew Gage, Christina Graham (magna cum laude), Haleigh Lloyd (cum laude), Hannah Mullins, Micah Whitlow.

Crittenden County Marion: Jordan Henson, Chris Neaveill, Hannah Wells (summa cum laude).

Cross County Wynne: Kristy Cothran.

Fulton County – Mammoth Spring: Deniece Byers; Salem: Mary Jane Conner.

Greene County – Marmaduke: Gena Miller, Ashley Shelton (cum laude); Paragould: Katie Harter.

Independence County – Batesville: Mercedees Haigwood, Christy Lovell, Lindsey Sharp (cum laude); Cave City: Cheyenne Childers, Brittney Landers (magna cum laude); Sulpher Rock: Jeni Bullard (Associate in Arts).

Izard County Violet Hill: Dakota Searcy (cum laude).

Jefferson County – Pine Bluff: Heileigh Miller 

Lawrence County – Black Rock: Whitney D. Meeks (cum laude); Horseshoe Bend: Alisha Worsham; Hoxie: Shayla Coats; Imboden: Scott Evins (magna cum laude), Heather Geurin; Portia: Janee Turbyeville-Schutzius; Smithville: Alli Evans (summa cum laude); Strawberry: Taylor Neeley (cum laude); Walnut Ridge: Charles Cagle, Curtis Jackson, Emily Moore, Matt Ryan, Erin Strong.

Lonoke County – Cabot: Josh Brown.

Marion County Yellville: Alyssa Rector. 

Mississippi County Blytheville: Amanda Bunch; Dell: James Conner; Manila: Kimberly Wise (cum laude), Leigha Woody (magna cum laude). 

Phillips County – Lexa: Sarah Ford.

Poinsett County Harrisburg: Brian Adams; Trumann: Thomas Rathbun.

Pope County Russellville: Jessica Rathbun (magna cum laude), April Upchurch (summa cum laude).

Pulaski County – Little Rock: Chase Norwood, Chris Williams; Sherwood: Hannah Lee (Associate in Arts), Lauren Ring (magna cum laude), Kelly Standley (cum laude).

Randolph County – Biggers: Kevin Hennings (magna cum laude); Maynard: A.J. Dauck (summa cum laude), Courtney Helms (cum laude), Jeanise Lawrence; Pocahontas: Beth Cunningham, Jessica Rice, Stephanie Robinett, T.J. Smith, Tammy Snyder.

Saint Francis County Colt: Miranda Neely.

Sharp County – Cherokee Village: Moriah Hendrix (summa cum laude); Hardy: Mary Kirby.

Washington County – Farmington: Randi Allen.

White County Bradford: Cayley Lee; Pangburn: Jordon Jolly; Searcy: Brian Robinson (magna cum laude).

Graduates from other states, listed by state and city, are:


Miami Dunia Schweri (magna cum laude).


Sesser Kacey Rasnic.


French Camp – Daniel Lawson.

Southaven – Callison Hopkins (magna cum laude).


Bell City Codie Lancaster.

Bismarck – Harley Cadwell, Tori Henson.

Fenton – Hannah Allison (summa cum laude).

Harviell – Mitchell Dennis (cum laude).

Piedmont – Kendall Fay.

Thayer – Whitney Mills (cum laude).


Memphis – Zabian Sanders.

Millington – Irene Flanery (Associate in Arts).

Nashville – Sharonda Brabson.


Denton Makenna Wiedower.

WBC graduates from other countries, listed by city and country, included: 

Belo Horizonte, Brazil – Lucas Braga. 

Bogota, Colombia – Carlos Owens-Hughes.

Fernando de la Mora, Paraguay Hugo Frutos Ferreira.

Lima, Peru Carolina Vela.

Liu Yang, China – ZhiJie “Leo” Li (magna cum laude).

Minsk, Belarus – Johnny Upchurch (cum laude).

Pasturat, France – Laure Beltzer (magna cum laude).

San Lorenzo, Paraguay – Hector Vera.

Back to News Listing