Home » WBC News

Williams PBL Chapter Racks Up State Awards


Business students from Williams Baptist College have returned from state Phi Beta Lambda competition with a host of awards. WBC saw 18 of its students claim a total of 29 awards at the annual PBL event, held in Little Rock April 12-14.

In addition, 15 Williams students qualified for competition in 16 categories at this summer’s national PBL conference in San Antonio.  PBL is the collegiate arm of Future Business Leaders of America.

WBC students taking first place honors in national qualifying categories were: Mari Pinedo, Brian Robinson and Ryan Bauschlicher (Business Ethics); Matthew Schweri, Morgan Hatcher and Hannah Hodges (Business Presentation); Justin Daubert (Client Service); Rebecca Schuttger (Database Design & Applications); Justin Daubert, Jeremiah Nance and Justin Hawkins (Human Resource Management); Matthew Schweri (Sports Management & Marketing) and Jeremiah Nance and Patrick Corder (Strategic Analysis & Decision Making).

Winning second place honors were: Clint Stout (Database Design & Applications, Information Management); Patrick Corder and Ethan Clark (Financial Analysis & Decision Making); Laure Beltzer (Hospitality Management); Rebecca Schuttger (Macroeconomics); Mari Pinedo and Laure Beltzer (Marketing Analysis & Decision Making) and Morgan Hatcher (Microeconomics).

Third place awards went to: Chris Sloan (Impromptu Speaking, Retail Management) and Justin Hawkins (Sports Management & Marketing).

Taking fourth place were: Jesse Hughes (Contemporary Sports Issues); Hannah Hodges (Financial Concepts) and Curtis Jackson (Statistical Analysis).

Earning fifth place awards were: Cassie Jones (Accounting for Professionals, Business Communications); Curtis Jackson (Contemporary Sports Issues) and Ethan Clark (Financial Concepts).

Those who won first, second or third place in individual events qualify to take part in national competition, while first and second place in team events qualify for nationals.

Several Williams students also took part in open competitions, which are not national qualifying events. Taking honors in those categories were: Matthew Schweri (First place: Advertising), Rebecca Schuttger (Second place: Advertising), Justin Daubert (Third place: Business Etiquette) and Patrick Corder (Third place: Business Principles, Fourth place: Leadership).

Back to News Listing