Seminar for Fall 2014 interns will be Monday, August 18 and Tuesday, August 19 in SC 109 from 9:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Insurance must be purchased during seminar, and the price is still $25 (nametags are an addition $5).
Beginning this Fall 2014 semester, students must pass the appropriate Praxis II Content test to be recommended for graduation and for licensure.
All interns must complete a certain number of professional development hours and provide certificates of completion to the WBC Education Office before your license application can be sent to the Arkansas Department of Education. Students must complete two (2) hours for Parental Involvement (you may choose any two or more that total 2 hrs) and two (2) hours for Teen Suicide Awareness and Prevention. Be sure to print out your certificate and turn it in to the Education Office. Instructions on accessing the Arkansas IDEAS portal can be found here.
Background checks will be conducted on each student who is completing their internship. The cost of the background check is $25 and will be added as a course fee to your account in the Business Office. This background check is for WTEP purposes only and is separate from the background check that must be completed for your licensure.
Arkansas State Police, FBI and Child Maltreatment Central Registry background checks are required for initial, first time licensure and whenever an educator changes school districts.
The Child Maltreatment Central Registry background check is also required at the first renewal of an educator license. The Child Maltreatment Central Registry background check will be sent to the address in the first paragraph of the application.
The taking of fingerprints can be done at any law enforcement office. The completed fingerprint card and accompanying background check application will be sent to the Arkansas State Police at the address listed on the back of the application.
The appropriate fee must accompany the applications.